The Guard

The Truth On Board


By Masilo Malakwane

QWAQWA– Qwa-Qwa radio community station originates in the eastern part of the Free State concluded its 21st birthday month with elegance. The station hosted the awards ceremony aimed to instill hard work and self-sacrifice among its employees and acknowledge those who were outstanding for the year 2020/21. Veteran Presenter Phalli ‘Mafelos’ Mohapi has excelled in the ceremony as he scooped  the most-wanted best presenter of the year, he accepted his prestigious achievement nod with unpretension as his colleagues and management applauded him at the gala dinner in the mountainous Golden Gate National Park Guesthouse on Saturday 27, February 2020

Having being on the airwaves for almost two decades, Mohapi who hosts most talk-about lunchtime shows of Re ja Lekomo every Monday to Friday between 13:00 –15:00 stated that although it was not an easy ride of eighteen years behind the mic, but through hard work and dedication something had to give.

“Honestly I am honored and flattered. to be acknowledged and win in such a wide range of categories which underlines the strength and thrust of our radio. I also want to thank the listeners, management and the station board for their support, above all God is good all the time” Mohapi said in his acceptance speech. He received a certificate of recognition including a laptop and other prizes for his dedicated life to radio.

Qwaqwa Radio Board Secretary Seka Mopeli Phalli, Mohapi and Manager Tebello Mosala.

Other presenters who joined the esteemed best presenter of the year category, were Makutlwano Mahamuza who was bestowed with the awards of Best News Editor, Thabang Mohale for best Current Affairs Anchor and Producer, Innocent Mkwanazi for best journalist, Nontokozo Tshabalala for the best News Reader for both Sesotho and English, Teboho Kotope for best Sesotho and versatile presenter, Christinah Nthejane for best English presenter, Lerato Makara for best content presenter, Teboho Mphuthi for best music and manager, Dieketseng Mokhesi for best Programs Manager, Thabo Mokoena for best Technician, Thabiso Radebe for best Community builder, whilst Madiipone Mokheseng, Tshidiso Mofokeng, Ntebaleng Radebe also shared the category appreciation award respectively.

Chairperson of the Board Mei George Salemane heaped praise upon all station employees, commending the management spearheaded by Station Manager Tebello Mosala of her ability to guide her ship through testing times. “We wish to express gratitude to our sponsors, Hardware Mecca, Vodacom, Game, TFS, Spar Supermarket, and, and, and.” he said. The station celebrated its 21st birthday on the 11th of February and it has produced one best presenter who ultimately went to the national broadcaster SABC, such as Rapeo Mokoena, Konelo Lekhafola, Naka Moloi, Mokete Monyobo, Nkunyana Nkunyana, Ntswaki Motloung, Tshediso Masolane, Thabiso Mafereka, Malefetsane Moreki, Sebidi Molefe, the late Sipho Mnyakeni, Sipho Tshabalala and Thabiso Gamede among others.