The Guard

The Truth On Board

New Free State MPLs to be sworn in

By Libuseng Nyaka

QWAQWA – Preparations are at an advanced stage for the Free State provincial legislature to elect a new Speaker and Premier at its first sitting scheduled for Friday June 14, 2024.

This sitting will also see the election of committee chairpersons and representatives to the national council of provinces (NCOP).
Free State legislature spokesperson Life Mokone says the sitting of Free State legislature follows consultation with the Office of the Judge President of the Free State Division of the High Court, Justice C.J Musi.

“The Legislature notes the date of the 14th of June 2024 as the confirmed date for the first sitting of the house. Section 110 (1) of the Constitution, states that “after an election, the first sitting of a provincial legislature must take place at a time and on a date determined by a judge designated by the Chief Justice, but not more than 14 days after the election results have been declared.”

He said the Constitution also empowers the Judge President or his/her representative, to swear in designated members in the form of an oath or affirmation.
The Judge President or his/her designate will also preside over the election of the Speaker and the Speaker will preside over the election of the Deputy Speaker. The swearing-in marks the beginning of the new legislative term. This process ensures that elected members commit themselves to be faithful to the people and to uphold the Constitution before they can begin their work.

This publication has learned that three names have been forwarded by ANC national executive committee for the position of premier. They are outgoing premier Mxolisi Dukwana, MaQueen Joyce Letsoha Mathae who is a former MEC for community safety, roads and transport and Public works MEC Dibolelo Mahlatsi.

The Free State remains under the ANC following its 52.88 percent victory; it is followed by the DA with 21.31 percent (an increase from 2019’s 11.90 percent), and the EFF in third with 13.09 percent, showing a slight increase from 11.60 of the 2019 elections.